Book Review: Exodus by Drew Avera

I “met” Drew on a Facebook page I run and I have to say, he is a great guy. He is a Navy vet, married and the father of two children

I read his debut novel Exodus a couple of weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed it.

From the blurb, “For twenty five hundred years the civilization on Mars has been ruled by the Syndicate, an organization run by the top one percent. Every need and desire of the average citizen has been fed by the machine in return for a lifetime of obedience. What happens when the profit margins fall and the people become a burden to the pockets of the Syndicate? What happens when their plans to exile their citizens to a certain death is revealed? This is the story of a man named Serus Blackwell who has a job to do. Serus is a policeman who works for the Agency, but it isn’t what you think. Can he protect his sister, Kara, before the Agency kills her, or will the programming he received from the Agency override his emotions and condemn Kara to the same fate as the rest of the planet?”

While Exodus is a science fiction novel, it is at it’s heart a love story. Serus, the protagonist of the story, is made into a passionless drone, to become a Policeman. The police of Mars aren’t what we would think of them as, they are cold-blooded killers who work for the Syndicate. When he sees that his sister is in danger, all the feelings of his past come flooding back. Exodus is a fast paced story. No matter what you are looking for in a story you will find it.

Drew has many of his works for free on his author page. I highly recommend that you go check his works out.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

