Book Review: Otherworlders by Angela Cavanaugh

I had the opportunity to read this book before it was published and I was truly thrilled at how well it was written. The release date is set for January 18th and I hope you will help Angela out by buying it.

From the blurb, “When a virus threatens humanity with extinction, the desperate and dwindling number of uninfected seek refuge in a parallel universe. The technology is untested. The other universe is unprepared and one thing is made violently clear: they are not wanted.

As a weaponized, fatal virus mutates and threatens to kill all life forms on Earth, Special Agent Williams and the government conspires to send the healthy away. After space travel and going underground are ruled impossible, all that remains is the theoretical technology of an autistic savant: escaping to a parallel universe. But when they travel to the other dimension, their arrival is met with suspicion and hatred. To evade persecution, experimentation, and to save their lives, the Otherworlders must find a way to escape, survive, and outwit Agent Williams’s murderous double.”

I sat back to read this book and was immediately pulled into the story. There are not many story tellers who can grab me and keep me, but I found myself reaching for my Kindle, while trying to get my own writing done, because I wanted to know what was going to happen next.

Angela was able to weave a story of political intrigue, science, hatred and love into one book so deftly that you will find your self rooting for almost every character at some point, and that even includes the bad guys.

Five stars truly is not enough for this book.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

