Book Review: A Promise and a Price by Stephen Leuchtman

I’ve known Steve for around 10 years, as a matter of fact, he is the person who got me interested in writing again after a long time of doing none. A Promise and a Price is his first published novel. I’ve spent the last five years reading and rereading this book, and the others he has lined up for publication, and have seen it grow from a good book to a great one.

From the blurb: Bethany Turner has been having the dreams of him since she was a girl. Easy enough to put them off as compensation for the mess her life has become, until he walks in on a Thursday night. Now everything changes, and even the things she thinks she knows are not exactly what they seem to be. Her whole life changes in a week. But she knows the price the dreams suggest. Can they change it? If not can it possibly be worth it?

Bethany is a divorced college drop out, living in her hometown of Elko, NV because she had nowhere else to go. Her life is grim, get up, go to work, go back to the crappy trailer, eat, go to sleep. She wants to go back to school, but she has to save the money. The only thing that makes her life tolerable are the dreams of him…

Trey is divorced, a desert rat, trolling the Great Basin for stories to sell to magazines back east. He doesn’t think he has anything to offer. His life is a car, a bottle of whiskey and the places in between. He hasn’t seen his kids in over a year, and can’t get over what he could have been. The only thing giving him any measure of hope is the dreams of her…

Until one night in May, a mysterious three hour stop at a mountain near Battle Mountain puts him off his plans, he stays in Elko for the night, and killing time, he walks into the scummy bar where Beth works, and into their destiny. But the dreams aren’t all good. They are a promise, of a better future, together, but are they worth the price?

A Promise and a Price is a love story about two people who have dreamed of each other for many years and one day find each other. It is considered a paranormal romance, but to my mind, it is so much more than that. The descriptive narrative is almost flawless. The character development is perfect. The writing style is spot on.

Taken from the point of view of Bethany, the book is slow paced, a long lingering kiss. You feel yourself getting to know the characters like they are a part of your own family. When Steve first asked me to read this book, I have to admit I wasn’t thrilled about it, I do not usually like romance novels. I have been pleasantly surprised over the last few years by how much I truly love this story, and those to come. I feel like I know the characters almost as well as the author does.

Even if romance isn’t your cup of tea, I strongly urge you to give A Promise and a Price a chance, it is well worht the read.

Check out Steve’s author page for his other works.

You can get a sneak peek at some of his works at his Wattpad page.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

