Live Happy!

As I scroll through my Facebook timeline lately all I seem to see is negative comments about life. I know some people use FB as a place to vent, but is life really that bad?

I spent close to fifteen years helping to take care of my father. Dad had a lot of health problems: he was diabetic, was in heart failure, renal failure, he had one of his legs amputated below the knee, and a lot more. The only thing I ever heard my father complain about was his children having to help him as much as we did. It wasn’t that he didn’t appreciate what we were doing, he did, it was that he felt helpless. The man, through all the pain and suffering, never complained about anything, except his soup not being hot enough, it could be bubbling like a witch’s cauldron, and it wouldn’t be hot enough.

When he was in the hospital the last time he was put into the Palliative care building at the Gainesville VA. His will to live was strong even then. We got to his room and he told us that the place he was at was where people went to die and he was having none of it. Unfortunately dad passed early the next morning, but his will to fight has never left my mind.

A couple of years ago my mother was diagnosed with lung cancer. Through surgery and chemo, losing her hair, and everything else that comes with cancer, my mother always clung on to how great life is. Thankfully, mom is cancer free and doing fine.

I know we all have problems. Our health isn’t the best. Our family life is in the wringer. Whatever the problems are though, you’re alive. Step out your front door and breath in a new day, every day. Be thankful that, though you may have problems, you are alive and living. Don’t let your situation dictate the way you live.

If you live like you’re happy, you will be happy.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

