Ramblings of a tired mind

So, tomorrow is the deadline for the rough draft of Outrunning Perdition. I’m not done with it. I’m not close to done with it.I am just short of 25K words. About halfway to where I need to be. Ah, but I forgot something very important.

I’m an Indie! Self imposed deadlines don’t really mean anything. They are self imposed. Don’t get me wrong, deadlines are important. They give you something to push for, but being a self published indie means that if I miss a deadline, I just make a new one.

That’s one of the great things about being self published, you make all of the decisions. One of the worst parts of being self published is, you make all of the decisions. Being a new author it makes it a hundred times harder, but I wouldn’t change it. The community I have found myself in is amazing.

Maybe I could and should do more to push The Forgotten Edge.  I don’t have a publisher to help out, so I could spend everyday going to various websites and posting about my book. I could spend thousands of dollars on promotions. I could do a lot of things that I haven’t done. The problem with all of that is, when would I write?

I told my friend Steve that if The Forgotten Edge never sold a singe copy, I would still be happy, because I finished my first book, thankfully it has sold some. I am happy about it too. No, it isn’t making me a much money. It only has 6 reviews, 4.2 out of 5 stars, which I think is pretty good for a debut book. I’m happy with it though. I’m happy because I accomplished something I have wanted since I was 16. It took 27 years, but I did it.

All of the above to say this. No matter what you want to accomplish in life, keep pushing for it no matter what obstacles stand in the way. It could take 27 years. It could take 100 years. Never stop trying though, because in the end, you will be happy.

New deadline for my half of the rough, Feb. 28, 2015. Will I make it? I don’t know, but I will try.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

