Florida

There are SPOILERS in this post. If you haven’t read The Forgotten Edge, read no further!!!! You have been warned.

I was born and raised in Central Florida in a little city called Winter Haven. I love my state. Yes, we are screwed up when it comes to politics, but there really isn’t any place else, on earth that is, that i would rather live. Today marks the 170th anniersary of Florida becoming the 27th state.

When I was writing The Forgotten Edge I wasn’t really sure where I was going to go with it. Was I going to put Andrews and Levy on some far off world or was it going to be some place closer to home? For some reason I was looking at topigraphical maps of Florida,I love maps, when it struck me, they would be on earth and what better place to put them than my own state.

The next problem was where to put them. Florida is a big place. While Florida is fairly flat, there are many other pit falls that could be encountered. Where I chose for The Rose, one day I’ll tell you why I called her The Rose, to land is about 60 or so miles west of where I now live, Jacksonville.

ocean-pond-3

This is Ocean Pond. It is a small lake in north central Florida. In the story, this is the place where Andrews and Levy go to bathe and try to catch fish. It’s a beautiful little place that I could spend hours exploring.

sun setting

There is nothing like watching the sunset across an expanse of water.

For the journey to The Cape I chose for the group to travel east on highway 90 to the ocean. Where the cross the river would be where the Fuller Warren Bridge is.

images

Of course there was no concrete and steel bridge, just a rope bridge. They then keep heading east to Atlantic Beach.

atlantic-beach

Now came the interesting part. Should I just let them walk, or should a boat take them to The Cape? If I chose walking, there could have been a lot of interesting things I could have said about the flora and fauna of the trip. I chose, however, to send them on a boat. Then came the decision, what kind of boat? This question took me almost 3 days to answer. I wanted it to be an older looking boat, you will have to read to find out why. I finally settled on a three masted schooner.

schooner

I spent another 3 days just studying the lay out of one of these boats.

00002a

At last they make it to The Cape. This place I had in mind as soon as the words, The Cape, came into my head. Of course, what better place for a science fiction book to end at than Cape Canveral.

cape_canaveral_beach_sections

Of course Merriit Island and the cape were protected, so the people actually live in what would be Cocoa.

So, where will Andrews and Levy end up next? I don’t know, but look for Book 2, The Remembered Past soon.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

