A little look into Outrunning Perdition

I couldn’t sleep tonight so, I wrote. The following is part of the first chapter of Part 3. This is rough, ut I wanted you to get a little taste. I hope you like it.

We have much to discuss my son.” Father said.I have waited many years for this time. I despise the men of the Citadel. I despise the exile. And I despise the way we treat our women.

I stepped back and stared at him. I was young when I was taken from him, but the one thing I remembered about him, he was a good man. The things he was saying had a ring of anger and truth to them.

Why are you telling me this Father?” I asked.

Because soon you will have to run my son. Soon the hounds of the Citadel will chase you from the only home you know. I want to give you a chance to survive.”

Why Father? Why are these men like they are?” I asked

Because they are cowards.” he spat in answer. “They have love in their hearts for nothing but their dicks. They are getting old and they know that your people will have to replace them. They can’t stand that idea, so they will do the cowardly thing and chase you from your home and try and kill you if they can.”

Is Rex dealing with us straight?”

I don’t know my son, but I would not trust him if my life depended on it, and yours does.”

What are we to do then?”

You will run. “ he answered. “ You will run north. Follow the tracks of Perdition. When you get to the end look closely and you will find that there is a spur that is kept hidden. Follow it to the cave and you will find a store house of gold.”

What is gold?” I asked

It is a rock that is very precious back on earth. We have been hoarding it for years just in case people from earth ever come back. Rex thinks we can use it as leverage if they do show up.. “ he answered. “Listen to me though, that isn’t important. There are three mines that we have running. One is the iron mine, which is the one you found. The second is a copper mine. The last is a gold mine. That is where you will find the spur. You can camp at that cave. There is a good water source and plenty of food to be found. If you travel to the east a quarter days journey, you will find another cave. There you will find some guns and some ammunition.”

What good are those things to us Father?”

They can be your leverage. There isn’t much ammunition there, but there is enough. There is also a stockpile of bows and iron tipped arrows. If you can train enough of your people to use them, you will have an army strong enough to take the Citadel.”

They have guns though father. How can we defeat them with arrows?

You are going to go against old men who haven’t fought anything but jock itch in forty years. You can do this my son. If you are half the man I think you are, you can defeat them and become the leader of a united people. A people who don’t send their sons off to die. A people who don’t think a woman is a plaything to be passed around.”

I now knew where I got my anger from. For many years I had wondered why my father had been sent to this planet. If the history I knew were right, all of the original men had been trouble makers. I just couldn’t see my father that way. He was quick to anger, that I could see, but I remembered him as a gentle man, always caring about the littlest things.

Why were you sent here Father? Why did you have to come to this planet?” I asked.

That isn’t important son.” He answered.

It is to me Father. I know nothing about you.”

He sighed and I could see he was thinking back to whatever happened. I saw tears forming in his eyes.

I was born in a small town. Nothing much happened there and when it did, it didn’t last long.” He said. “I had a younger sister, her name was Talia. When she was 12 years old she was on her way home from school when two men jumped her. They raped her savagely and left her dead on the side of the road. The men were never caught, but I caught wind of who they were, so I went hunting. I found them in an old broken down shack and I shot the first one. The second, I cut off his dick and put it in his mouth and taped it closed. For two hours I tortured him in every way I could think of. He finally bled out and I left. I didn’t realize that the first man was still alive. He made his way to the hospital and the police were called. He told them what happened and I was arrested and charged with a number of things that I can’t remember. I was given a choice, death or transport. I chose transport.”

I just stood there staring at him. I don’t think I would have done anything differently.

What about my mother?”

I loved her my son. I never forced myself on her. She always came to me freely. If things were different here, I would have made her my woman, but she died giving birth to the best thing that ever happened to me. That was stolen from me. You were stolen from me. I want revenge on these men for what they did to me and you. You have to be the arm of my revenge my Son.”

I will try Father.” I said.

You will succeed my son. We must part. The others are starting to drift apart. I don’t know if we will meet again, but I want you to know that I never wanted to send you. I love you more than life my son.”

He grabbed me and pulled me to him. After a few minutes, he let me go, turned and went back to the Citadel.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “A little look into Outrunning Perdition
  1. Patricia says:

    That sounds really good can’t wait the rest Jamie ..

    Like

Leave a Reply

