Ideas, they can kill

Since I started writing again a few years ago, I have encountered one huge problem: an abundance of ideas for new stories.

When you use your mind to create new things, from a story to a new form of energy, your mind is always racing with new ideas. As a writer, almost anything can trigger a new germ growing in your brain. You may think to yourself that that is good, and for the most part it is, the problem is that all those ideas floating around or taking root can keep you from doing the writing that you need to get done.

I have a short story, Riser’s Story,  I need to get done before the release of Outrunning Perdition, there is actually another I would like to get done telling Aroot’s story, but that one can wait. I need to get the rough of The Remembered Past done, because I would like to release it no later than September. I need to get a short story I am working on with a group of authors, that is all I can say about that group just now, done so it can go into editing for a release in July.

That’s the schedule. Pretty rough, but I know I can get it done. Here’s the problem, I spent all day yesterday working on an idea for a short story that is a prequel to The Forgotten Edge. It’s a good story. It’s the story of how Mike Andrews got into the Academy. It introduces his family. It gives us a little idea of how his character was built. What it doesn’t do is get any of the work I listed in the paragraph above any closer to completion.

I am not complaining. Ideas are the pot that keeps a writer going. I’m just irritated with myself for wasting a day on something that could have waited. It’s bad enough that “real” life has gotten in the way of me writing, now my own head is getting in the way of me doing what I need to.

Stupid head.

I’m going to go write now.

Maybe I will finish something today.

I doubt it I just had an idea for……

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

