Riser’s Story

For the last couple of weeks I have been working on a short that will be released on April 29th, called Riser’s Story. It tells the story of the first few days of Riser being in the Palisades.

I honestly thought the first short I would write would be the story of how Aroot became the Leader of the Palisades, but this story called to me more. My favorite character in Outrunning Perdition is Aroot, but my favorite character to write was Riser. He is a precocious young man who always seems to find himself in trouble. He’s smart, too smart. He’s loyal. He’s trustworthy, most of the time, sometimes he doesn’t know when to keep his mouth shut.

I think you will like him as much as I do. You can sympathize with every character in Outrunning Perdition, except for two, you will have to wait for release day to find out why, but Riser is special. He idolizes Aroot up to the point where Aroot does something that i almost unforgivable in his eyes. He forces himself into situations he probably shouldn’t, but his reasoning is sound. He’s just a smart kid who knows what he knows, and is usually right.

Riser’s Story will help you to understand where this boy, I forgot, don’t call him boy, comes from. It tells of the tests all new boys of the Palisades must go through. It also gives a glimpse of some of the other characters from Outrunning Perdition. Anyway, it will be released on the 29th of April, for 99 cents, and I hope you enjoy it.

Updates on other projects:

Outrunning Perdition is still in the editing stages. It’s coming together a little more slowly than we thought. To me, that’s a good thing, because both Steve and I want to give you the best story we possibly can. The hopeful release time is mid June, but I make no promises.

Aroot’s story. I have also started the story of how Aroot became Leader. It is in the very early stages, but I like it so far.

I will also be starting a story on Jonas and how it was for him and the first boys who came to the Palisades. I haven’t started it, but there are some ideas forming.

Steve is working on a short telling how the Hard Men came to be on Sanctuary.

I’m pretty sure he has at least one other story up his sleeve too, but I’ll let him tell you about them.

Outrunning Chaos will be the second full length novel in the Outrunning Series. Steve and I have the basic story in our heads and I have actually written a chapter of it.

Outrunning Earth will be the third book of the Outrunning Series. The story is mostly in our minds right now, but if it goes the way we think it will, it will be the best in the series.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

