Lost Lives

Let’s catch up. I finished Riser’s Story, it has a new name now, The Reaping. I did some revisions and Steve is going over it. Work on Outrunning is still ongoing.

I was sitting on my front porch watching the rain fall and I wondered, what if I told the stories of some of the men of the Palisades who had died. Just pick a couple and tell their story. The idea grew and coalesced in my mind. I came in and started writing. This story will be told in Aroot’s voice. He has been Leader of the Palisades for a short time and has already lost one of his men.

Here’s is a little taste.

Prologue

I want a record. I want people to remember who these boys are. Master Simian was kind enough to give me some paper that he made from the bark of some tree. I need to depend on him more. He’s probably the smartest man in the Palisades.

I’ve only been Leader of the Palisades for a month and I’ve already lost one of my boys. Phil was fishing and fell in the river. I don’t know why he was at the river instead of the stream. I have Master Tarshish and Lawrence coming in to let me know if they could figure out what went wrong.

So many lives have been taken from us in the years I have been at the Palisades. I can’t remember all of them, but I want a record of a least a few of them. They deserve to be remembered. They deserve better than what the Citadel has forced on them.

I’ve had enough. We need to do something about this. The Citadel needs to pay for what they have done to us. We’ve planned for years and have done nothing. Now is the time. No more waiting to see what happens. Jonas has sat too long, doing nothing.

Now is the time.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

