Announcement

This is a fairly long post, I hope you take the time to read it, because there is some awesome stuff in it.

For the last month or so I have been hinting at something I have been working on with a group of authors. It gives me great pleasure to introduce:

The Collective

The Collective

The Collective? That sounds like a group of entities that share or are motivated by at least one common issue or interest, or work together to achieve a common objective. And that is what we are. Let me explain.

Just over a month ago my good friend Drew messaged me and told me he had added me to a Facebook group. This is fairly common with Drew, so I said okay and ignored it for a day. In that day he kept adding people and I saw posts going up, so I checked it out. Wow! He was adding some awesome people and I started getting into it. What Drew wanted to do was get a group of authors together and do a box set of books concentrating on one topic.

Interesting right? It was to me. Over the last few weeks we have tossed ideas around. We have yelled at each other, okay I yelled. We have done a few Google Hangouts. And we have come up with what I think is an awesome plan. The details are boring, but the one idea that came up that is worth sharing is this; we, the authors will release a book, under the umbrella of The Collective. The fist set, yes there will be more than one, will be science fiction retellings of fairy tales or fables.

There is a lot of background stuff that needs to happen before we start releasing, but we are hoping the first will be out by the end of the year, One of those things is branding. Getting our name out there, and that is one of the purposes of this post. There are seventeen of us right now and i would like to introduce you to them.

“Oh Lord!” I can hear you saying. Give it a chance. Keep reading and you might just find some pretty awesome authors.

Drew Avera  Drew Avera is an active duty navy veteran and science fiction author. Drew is our founder and a pretty good idea man. Drew’s story for this round of books will be Robin Hood.

Mikey Campling Mikey was born in Scarborough, North Yorkshire. He was, he says, given very little say in the matter. Mikey is working on an upgraded website for us that will be live soon. Mikey’s story is The Silver Snuff Box.

Chris Godsoe Christopher Godsoe lives in Central Maine with his son. Chris is one of our tech guys and is helping us to market. Chris’ story is Skyggen/The Shadow.

Pavarti K. Tyler Award winning author of multi-cultural and transgressive literature, Pavarti K Tyler is an artist, wife, mother and number cruncher. Pavarti’s story is The Goblin Market.

Xavier Granville Xavier Granville is a young writer, musician and filmmaker currently residing in Toronto, Ontario. He also thinks he is a bigger Doctor Who fan than I am, we know better. Xavier is doing the cover design for all of the first round of books. Xavier’s story is Red Riding Hood.

Buffy Naillon I’m a writer mostly. And secretly an artist. Lover of foodies. Vampire Slayer in my spare time. Buffy helps to keep me sane. Buffy’s story is Rapunzel.

David J. Delaney I’m an Irishman hailing from Dublin but now living in Sydney, Australia. David’s story is Three Little Pigs.

Scott Richards Scott is a California-based author where he is forced to live with all of the characters in his head. Scott’s story is Beauty and the Beast.

Steve Yeager Steve R. Yeager lives in Northern California with his wife, two kids, and a pair of crazy dogs. Steve’s story is The Boy Who Cried Wolf.

Steve Leuchtman Steve is my co-author on Outrunning Perdition. Steve’s story is Sleeping Beauty.

Will Swardstrom Will Swardstrom is an indie author with stories in a variety of genres, but who mainly specializes in science fiction. Will’s story is The Goose Who Laid the Golden Eggs.

Woelf Dietrich Come on, the guy’s name is Woelf, nuff said. Woelf’s story is The Pied Piper.

Saffron Bryant Saffron is a young Australian author with a passion for both writing and reading. Saffron’s story is Snow White.

Jaret Martens Jaret Martens was born in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, where he continues to live, all the while battling an eternal existential crisis. Jaret’s story is Hansel and Gretel.

MJ Kelley M. J. Kelley is a story forger and humorist with a passion for education. MJ’s Story is Jack and the Beanstock

Felix R Savage Felix has not yet picked a story.

Lastly, there is me. You know about me. My story is One Thousand and One Nights.

That’s a pretty diverse group of people. Four continents and six countries are represented in The Collective.

I’ll be sending out more information as it becomes available, but I wanted you all the get a little bit of a taste for one of the projects I’m working on.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

