I am a bad blogger.

I just realized that it’s been over a month since I last posted. Didn’t I say I was going to do better at this? Guess not. No excuses, but we did have a holiday and I had quiet a few days where I couldn’t get out of the bed. I guess those are excuses.

I have started a new story, on top of the other ones I already have going, and yes, I know I am WAY behind on my publishing schedule. I had a dream a few weeks ago, in it I saw four angels being chained to the earth, before it cooled. An archaeologist has heard rumors of their existence for years and is on the hunt for them.

The following is part of what I have written so far. It is rough. Let me know what you think.

The Eternals

 

And the angels which kept not their first estate, but left their own habitation, he hath reserved in everlasting chains under darkness unto the judgment of the great day.

Jude1:6
My name is Dr. Myles Alvarez and I made a mistake. I unleashed Hell upon the world. Legends should sometimes remain legends.
Chapter 1

I’ve heard a legend for years. Before the earth cooled God cast four of His angels to earth and chained them here. I know what you’re thinking, religious nonsense. I too thought that at first and then I did some research. There are of course mentions of these angels in the Bible, the Koran and other religious texts, but there is more to it than that.

My research assistant Evan slammed a book closed and said. “Dr. Alvarez, I think I found it.”

“Found what?”

“Their names Doc.” I looked at him quizzically and he went on, “ The angels Doc, I’m pretty sure I found their names.”

We had gone through this a hundred time before and nothing had ever panned out. Both of my assistants were bright and hard working, but they also came up with some unorthodox approaches to this subject.

“Go on.”

“We’ve looked through the Koran. We’ve looked at oral traditions. We’ve looked in the Bible, but not the whole Bible.”

I sat up and asked, “What do you mean? We’ve gone over it cover to cover and found nothing.”

“That’s because we’ve used a standard King James. We’ve never thought of looking at other scriptures that aren’t part of the traditional Bible. I know you wanted me to try to find mentions of these angels somewhere other than Jude, but there aren’t any in the Bible. I decided to expand my research and looked into some other scriptures that aren’t canonized, that’s when I came upon this.”

He threw a small book at me titled The Book of Enoch.

“What is this?”

“Traditionally it was written by Enoch, but most scholars believe it comes from around 300 BCE. In it, it talks about The Watchers, a group of Angels that were cast out of heaven. Using this book and some other research we have done, I came up with who I think the four angels we are searching for are and where they might be.”

“Just how long have you been on this scent? This is the first I’m hearing of it.”

“I know Doc, I didn’t want to say anything in case it didn’t pan out, but this time I think it did.”

I sat back and thought. The three of us had worked out of this office together for the last two years. It had taken me years to find the right people to help me, searching for unprovable legends wasn’t what most research assistants wanted to do. I’d been luck and found a husband and wife team that weren’t just interested, but excited to give it a shot.

The door opened and Cammie came in with her big smile.

“Hey guys. What’s going on?”

I smiled at her and said, “Your husband is about to tell us the names of the angels.”

“Is he now? And just when did he figure all of this out?”

He put a sheepish grin on and said, “I’ll tell you later.”

I had a feeling that even if this didn’t pan out, he would get a lecture about keeping things from her.

I looked from him to her and back and said, “Okay, tell.”

“I’d like to go one at a time Doc, to try to tie the research in with what I just found.” I nodded for him to go on. “I’m going to start with the Whisperer. As you both know the Celts in the region of what is now Salzburg, Austria believed that there was a demon buried in the caves that caused evil to happen.”

Our research had found oral traditions dating back thousands of years for this. Even today, some residents of Salzburg wouldn’t go near the cave systems.

He continued, “It was said that this demon spoke evil into the hearts of men. Even today people think that the bad things that happen in the area are caused by this Whisperer. If we go into Chapter seven of The Book of Enoch we find an angel named Ramiel, whose name means Thunder of God. It is believed that he was cast out for speaking knowledge that he shouldn’t have known.”

I hated to admit it, but this was getting interesting. I wasn’t sure if he was on the right track or not, but the more we knew, the better off we would be.

“Ramiel is considered an angel of hope. He had two tasks. The first was he was an angel of divine visions. The second, he would guide souls to heaven. If we take this to the spiritual, he was corrupted by the fall, so instead of divine visions, he whispered evil. Instead of guiding souls to heaven, he made sure they were cast in hell. I know that seems a little far fetched, but most of what we are working on is.”

That kind of rankled me, but if I were honest with myself, it was true. I had first heard the rumors of these angels when I was in grad school, I’d become obsessed with them ever since. The thought of actually finding one of these creatures had almost brought me to the point f madness on more than one occasion.

I pushed those thoughts aside and asked, “Why Salzburg?”

“The four corners of the earth. If we look at the traditions we have found it actually ties in well. Traditionally the four corners are Europe, Asia, Africa and somewhere in the Americas. Ramiel fits the Whisperer in my mind.”

“I have to agree with you there. Let’s take a lunch break and get back to this after.”
Chapter 2

It’s been so long since someone has listened to me. People hide from me now. The Whisperer they call me. I whisper very seldom now. I’ve been buried here for I don’t know how long. Father chained me with everlasting chains.

I had my day though. More than one. The Celts were first. I made them fight amongst themselves. The Romans came, they were almost too easy. Their love of war was exciting to me. I had plans for them, but they ruined them. Weak humans.

The boy though, he was my hope. He came to me after his brother died. He was depressed over his loss, but he still shone with happiness. He walked the forests around my burial site thinking of his painting. He wanted to be an artist. He wanted to be known as a man who brought joy to the people.

I changed that. I made his heart as black as the cave I am buried in. I started softly with him. Gently filling his mind with a hatred for anything other. If you weren’t for the Fatherland, you were other. I made him a zealot for his country. I laugh at that. How many countries have come and gone over the spot I am buried on?

Then the master stroke. I had heard rumors over the millennia of a group of people that called themselves the Chosen Ones. They said they were God’s people. I remember the Father talking about them. He hadn’t yet created them, but he was going to create a tribe of people who were His.

Whispers. Soft whispers of their inferiority. How could these people call themselves the Chosen? The people of the Fatherland are the truly Chosen!

Soft whispers. They are the cause of all the problems in the Fatherland.

Soft whispers. They are other, they must be destroyed.

Six million of God’s people wiped out. Fifty plus million more dead in just six short years.

I need to find someone new. Someone I can whisper to.

Soft whispers.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

