My Two Cents

I usually try to stay away from politics on here and the other places I use as my public persona, but I want to speak about something, the Syrian Refugee Crisis.

The first thing I want to say is, if you are going to spout nonsense, at least know the cause of what is going on. Don’t depend on memes for your knowledge, because most of them are stupid.

Before I go on let me tell you two facts about me.

The first, I am an unapologetic Christian. I think the worst phrase ever to come out of mans mouth is, God helps those who help themselves. If you are helping yourself, where is the room for God to do anything?

The second fact is, I am an unapologetic, small “l”libertarian. I think the government gets in our way far too much and we are unable to do things for ourselves. I do, however, realize that sometimes people need a helping hand. A hand, not things given to them constantly.

If you don’t like those two things, I don’t know what to tell you. You can stop reading here, but I wouldn’t, because you may be surprised by what I have to say.

Facts: Out of a pre-civil war population of 11 million, more than half of Syrians are either dead, or have had to flee their homes.

There are 4.4 million refugees. Contrary to popular belief, most of them are women and children.

So what happened to cause this?

In March of 2011, the people of Syria decided to rise up against an oppressive regime. There weren’t guns. There weren’t bombs. These people were peaceably marching against a government that had it’s boot on the peoples throats.

What caused the demonstrations? The arrest of boys who had written, in spray paint, you know how deadly that stuff is, “The people want the fall of the regime.” Wow, so many people were hurt from words.

The government response to the demonstrations? Kill and or detain the demonstrators.

What did the demonstrators want? Democratic reforms. The end of corruption. The release of political prisoners. More freedom. Hmmm, does that sound familiar to you? Think back in history. The late 1700’s. Ring a bell?

The people decided to rise up, again, look at history. They seized guns. The government brought tanks. They caused fires. The government brought mustard gas.

Caught in the middle of all of this fighting were people who just wanted to live their lives. They looked around and saw their cities being destroyed. Their friends being killed. What were they to do? They ran.

I’ve heard people ask, Why didn’t they stay and fight? To those who say that, you’re an idiot. Do you think everyone fought during our own Revolution? Did everyone fight in France’s? Did everyone fight during the civil war? Of course they didn’t, they just wanted to live their lives to the best of their abilities. Yes, that did include young strong men.

4.4 million people HAD to flee or they would die, period. There is no discussion on that point. They would be dead. Children. Women.

Yet, I hear my fellow Christians saying some of the most God awful things about these people. Where is love? Isn’t that what Jesus’ message was?

“They can go back home.” is another one I hear regularly. Look at the pictures and ask yourself if that is a place you would want to go home to. They do though. They want to go home. They can’t though. If they go back, they die. It’s simple. I don’t understand why people have such a hard time with this.

The international community got together and decided something needed to be done. Countries would take in some of these refugees. What do I hear from my fellow libertarian and conservative friends? They could be terrorist. Yes, you’re right, there could be some. There could also be a murderer standing next to you in the elevator. Lightning could strike you, which is more likely than getting killed by a terrorist. A drunk driver could come into your lane.

Do you really want to live in fear of what might happen? The President has said we will bring 10,000 of these refugees in. Turkey has 2.2 million. 10,000. Do you really want to turn away 10000 souls because of “might”? Really? Is that what Christians do? Is that what conservatives do? Really?

If that is your brand of Christianity and conservatism, you can keep it, because I want nothing to do with it.

One last thing, please stop confusing refugee vetting and Visa vetting. It makes you look like an idiot.

“For I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that He is able.”

Jamie

 

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

