New Year, New Work

As I said in my last post, I didn’t meet all of my goals for last year. I have decided, by yelling at myself, that this is okay. I was being ambitious, which there is nothing wrong with. This year I’m still going to be ambitious, just at a more sedate pace.

I really shouldn’t complain. Between Oct. of 2014 and Dec. of 2015, I published five stories. While I know some authors who put a book out once a month, five books is nothing to sneeze at.

Here is a list of the works I hope to have done by the end of the year.

For The Collective Scifi:

Head of Steel Part Two, Three and Four: This is the continuation of the story of Least of Three, based on the Croation folk tale Bas Celek. I’m hoping to have the rough of Part 2 done by the end of January. Possibly published by March. The other 2 will be spread out through the year, with Part 4 hopefully being published for Christmas 2016.

The Outrunning Series:

The Defender: I was planning on publishing this after we had told the Outrunning story. After talking to my writing partner on this, we decided that this story needed to be told before the rest of the story could be told. It is the backstory of the boys of the Palisades. It tells the hows and whys of why they are the way they are. I’m still doing research on this, primitive laws and the like, but I hope to have it written and published by May or June.

Outrunning Chaos: What happened to the boys after the showdown at the Citadel? I don’t know either, at least not yet. I have an inkling of where I might go, but I haven’t sussed it out all the way. Possible publication, Thanksgiving????

New stories:

I have a couple of ideas. I’ve actually written three chapters on a new story I am tentatively calling The Eternals.  Demons. Archaeology. History. Religion. Loads of research. I already have at least ten pages of typed research notes on this story. We’ll see what happens. I’d like to have this written by October with a release after Thanksgiving, but before Christmas. We”ll see what happens with this.

Her: This is a story I have been writing for a decade. It’s a psychological thriller based on words I woke up with on my lips, “The Last thing I heard was her scream.” This is my child. This is the story that got me writing again. This is the story that has driven me insane for years. This is the year I will finish it. I keep telling myself that. It might just work.

There are a few other things I have taken a few notes on. I don’t know if they will happen or not, but the notes are sitting there waiting for me to do something with.

Other things:

I’d really like to try something new this year. One of the thoughts I had was doing a weekly video. Something short I can put on here and on my Facebook page. I don’t want it to be about writing. Maybe a list of my 5 favorite things to do in—– situation. I don’t know yet. If I put a video up, you’ll be the first to know.

I want to be more interactive with the people who follow me. I try right now, but I want to do it better. I don’t know how yet, but I will figure it out. You folks deserve better of me.

That’s all I can think of right now. I hope I am able to accomplish what I have set out to. December 31, 2016, be here to find out if I have.

 

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

