David J Rodger

People get busy. They lose touch. Usually they get back together, especially with the advent of social media. I found out last night that that wouldn’t be happening with someone I have come to admire a great deal.

David lost a short battle and passed away November 22. I didn’t find this out until last night and, being half asleep, it really didn’t register. This morning it hit me. He was the first person to like this blog.  He was one of the first Tweeps I had. He was the first author to offer me advice, by yelling at me.

I was fairly new to this thing we call authorship. I was new to Twitter. I thought the best way to  thank people was to do it in an automated DM. David told me I was wrong.

Oh great, a robot Jamie. Just what I need. How about getting rid of this and actually talking to people?

That piece of advice stuck with me and got me engaged with the people who were following me.

David was, above all else, a wonderful man who truly cared about those he talked to. It wasn’t a game for him. When he said something to you, you could be sure it was advice you should listen to.

I was struggling over whether I should change the cover of The Forgotten Edge, I know that it doesn’t push sales for it. I was talking to David about it and all he said was, “It’s a tribute to your father.” That meant a lot to me. He understood what it meant to me.

He was a talented writer himself. His books can be found here. I’ve read most of his books, and you should too. He was a gifted photographer who loved sharing his pictures with people.

Most of all, he was a friend. One I will miss for a long time to come.

To close, I’m going to quote another friend of his. Evan, you said it best.

no matter how bad things get… no matter how much you feel alone… there are people out there who love you.
Remember that.
Don’t ever forget that – EVER!

 

RIP David

David

 

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “David J Rodger
  1. Evan C. says:

    That’s a great post, Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

