NaNoWriMo

The first of November is coming soon. What does that mean? National Novel Writing Month, NaNoWriMo. If you’ve never heard of it, it was started  back in 1999 as a challenge to get a novel written in the month of November. It started with just 21 participants and now has thousands. It’s a challenge. There are some prizes, but that’s not what it’s for. It’s a challenge to get 50,000 words of a novel written from November 1-30.

I’ve thought of doing it for a couple of years, but always decided not to. This year, I decided it was time that I did it. My reasoning is simple, I’ve gotten nothing accomplished this year. I had so many plans, but things always seemed to get in the way. NaNoWriMo will give me the push I need.

I sat for a couple of days thinking of what I wanted to write. There is The Eternals, but the research left to do on that would take me most of November and probably into the New Year. There is  the second book in the Outrunning Series, but I’m just not there yet with that book. I could complete the Head of Steel series, but I don’t think it would equal out to 50,000 words.

So, the book I chose was, The Remembered Past, Book 2 in the Edge series. It’s been far too long since I sat and thought about what Andrews and Levi were up to. I wrote a short, very short, synopsis:

“Levi and Andrews have found the fabled Earth. They have been invited to stay, the only problem is the family they left behind. Granted permission and under strict orders not to reveal themselves to anyone other than their family, they must make there way through the gaps in the long range sensors and land without notice to retrieve their families.”

I’ll try and keep you up to date and maybe share what I’m writing.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “NaNoWriMo
  1. ooh! I have just signed up for the NaNoWriMo, which I had only found out about 3 days before…I have had this “story-line” in my head for a couple of years but have never actually done anything about it…(I’m a complete newbie to this and I can see you aren’t, as you are already a recognised author). Please let me know how you are doing so far.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dodge7505 says:

      Marie, I don’t know how recognized I am. So far I’m at around 6200 words. If you read my latest post you can get a little glimpse of the story I’m working on.

      My advice to you: go for it! Even if you don’t “win”, you are getting a story on paper, or screen, and that is a win for you. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

      Like

Leave a Reply

