New Years: The State of the Jamie Address

First and foremost, I want to thank you all for standing by me and caring about what I have to say. 2016 wasn’t a good year for writing for me. At the beginning of last year I made many promises about my publishing schedule, I accomplished none of them. A number of factors contributed to that but, excuses are like brain slugs, everybody has them. Yes, that was a Futurama reference. You though, you didn’t care. You patted me on the back and told me to keep going. You encouraged me in every way possible. I may not have many fans but the ones I have are spectacular. Thank you.

 

As you all know, I decided to leave The Collective SciFi a couple of weeks ago. I’ve been thinking about what I’m going to do with the two stories I was in the middle of writing for it. After much thought and consideration, it actually came to me while I was lying in bed this morning, I’ve decided that I will continue writing them, I know I said I was going to but I truly was undecided.

 

Here is what I decided:

 

I am going to pull Head of Steel from Amazon at some point in the near future. Instead of making it a serial, like I had intended, I am going to make it one long story. For those of you who have already bought the first part, I am truly sorry but serializing was an experiment, one that worked on some levels and not on others. Once it is finished I will release it again. I know I’ve shown this before but this will be the new cover.

 

headofsteel-cover

 

The story now titled My Story: A Brief History will get  new title, because that one is horrible, and a cover, and hopefully some words to make it an actual story. I’ve actually made a good start of it but there is a long way to go on it. This story is the story of how the God Machine came into being. I’ve a lot of ideas for it so, we will see where it goes.

 

Though they will be standalone novels, I am going to put them under an umbrella series title. I have no idea what it is as of yet, but it will come to me. I’m also considering expanding that universe so, more stories may be coming. I make no promises though.

 

I also hope to continue work on the second book in the Edge Series, The Remembered Past. I’ve been getting yelled at for over a year and a half to get it written and published. All I can say is that I will try. While The Forgotten Edge came easy to me, this story is much more detailed. I have a good idea of where it is going but, connecting the dots on this one is a little harder than I thought it would be.

 

The Eternals: I love the idea behind this story, four fallen angels chained in the earth being searched for. This one is research heavy. I already have over five pages of research notes and that hasn’t even scratched the surface of what I need. I have a feeling that my notes are going to be longer than the actual story.

 

Those are the four stories I hope to work on this year. I am not going to make promises that they will come out on certain dates, I did that last year and it exploded in my face. I will, however, say that I will try my hardest to get them done.

 

I hope that you all have a healthy and prosperous New Year. I again want to thank you all for staying with my on this journey. You’re the best.

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “New Years: The State of the Jamie Address
  1. dcwritesmore says:

    I hope you have a healthy and prosperous year, too, Jamie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

