Laws

images (1)

 

 

 

One of the biggest hurdles in writing The Defender is coming up with the rules of law that the boys live by. Some are easy, no murder or theft, but others are harder to come up with.

 

These boys are fairly simple, they were never educated in a school. Some can read but, like any other activity, if you don’t use the ability, you will lose it. Some are extremely smart, Jon. Others are gooey brained messes, through no fault of their own. I’ve been able to come up with a few rules.

 

Of course, these will be written differently in the book but, I do think it’s a good start.

 

Murder: Punishment is banishment forever.
Unless physically unable, everyone is to work at their assigned duty. Failure to do so will be no food for that day.
At no time is a Hunter to go out on his own. Punishment for doing this is no food for one day. The same for Gatherers.
All food is pooled communally. Theft of food is two days in chains.
A Defender who mistreats his charge will be expelled from The Palisades forever.
A Watcher who is derelict in his duties will be chained for two days.. 
No one is allowed within one mile of the Citadel.
I’m also working on rules for the Leader and Council. These are even harder to come up with.
This is what I have so far.
It is the duty of the The Leader to greet all new boys who come from the Reaping. Punishment for not doing this is chaining to the well for one day. 
Leadership will be elected on every twelfth full moon.
It is the members of the councils responsibility to make sure the Masters are not mistreating their charges.
Kind of flimsy. I’m going to keep working on this because these rules/laws are integral to the story I’m telling.
What are your thoughts? What would you add or subtract? Yes, I am looking for help.

 

 

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

