Doctor Who and Other Things

The first episode of Series 10 of Doctor Who just aired over this last weekend and, I loved it. I think Pearl Mackie is going to be a great companion for Peter Capaldi’s Doctor. I know some think he isn’t needed but, I think Matt Lucas’ Nardol is a perfect slap stick companion to the serious Doctor.

 

There was some very sweet moments that happened in the episode, Pilot, that some fans may not have noticed. The first was a nod to the first Doctor.

 

18010445_1571179992914898_2389520413955544001_n

 

I think this was a very sweet tribute to William Hartnell.

 

The second was a nod to the Doctor’s “recent” past.

 

18033578_1570074526358778_8068786495582370142_n

 

This was one of the funniest and sweetest moments of the episode. I think this Doctor is finally starting to listen to the voices of his past. He was running from them in the last couple of series but now, he knows they have something to say.

 

There is a rumor floating around that David Bradley will be revising his role as the first Doctor, from the movie An Adventure in Time and Space. I hope this rumor is true I think it would make for an interesting story, no matter what the story is.

 

All in all, I think the first episode of this series was a good reintroduction to the series. I give it an A.

 

Other Things:

 

Why is this still a thing?

 

This is becoming beyond ridiculous. I can’t believe there are still men out there who won’t read a science fiction or fantasy novel because a woman wrote it. Here’s a hint to you, if it wasn’t for a 17 year old woman, there would be no science fiction. It’s time for this to end. Now. Just stop.

 

Do you miss Babylon 5? No, there isn’t a reboot. There is, however, an app that you can watch all of the episodes on. You can find it here.

 

The Surface is a short film worth watching. Her’s the description.

 

In a grim apocalyptic future where mankind lives underground, a woman struggles to save her son from dying of mechanical lung failure. After all other options fail, her only hope is to venture to the desolate surface and face the ferocious monsters that drove mankind below!

 

This is just funny.

 

On a personal note. I decided to do some gardening on Saturday evening. Mistake. I was bitten by so many bugs my legs look like, well, they look gross. I didn’t sleep for two days because of it. That is why I hate the outside.

 

I think that’s it for today. Be good.

 

 

About

Hi, My name is Jamie Dodge. I am a full time writer and a full time caregiver. I generally write science fiction, but will dabble in almost anything, I can't write romance to save my life. I was born and raised in Central Florida into a large Italian family. The youngest by four years I had the advantage of being taught to read by the time I was 3. I don't think a day had gone by since then, where I haven't had a book in my hands at some point. One day I figured I would try my hand at it, so I wrote my first novel, The Forgotten Edge. I always get asked why I use the profile picture I do. I wish I could tell you, but I can't. It is a promise I made a few years ago, and I will honor it until I am given permission not to. That's it. That's me. I hope you enjoy my ramblings about my writing process and the other things that I find interesting.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

